Deep dispatch #6: Better than life

So I’ve been playing this game. It’s so addictive that I spend far too much time playing it, and when I’m not playing it, I’m thinking about it. I keep dreaming about it. In fact, I’m so addicted to it it’s meant that I’ve hardly had time to do any flying at all.

On paper, it seems so dull; I play a character who lives with a wife and some children. I have to make him go to work where I do repetitive tasks until it’s time to go back to his house and play a guitar or walk a small dog. The risk/reward system seems terribly unbalanced. Nothing much changes; there’s little progression other than the accumulation of credits at a very slow rate, most of which disappears on outgoings. And yet, and yet…I can’t stop playing.

The upshot of that is I’m not flying as much; maybe only an hour or two a day. At this rate, who knows how long it’ll take me to get to Jaques or the Steam Horse Nebula? I really, really need a day or two away from the game to fully concentrate on flying – the thing I’m supposed to be doing with my life.

 

~ Zil Zalo

 

icy-rings

Please share your thoughts

